Island Nation Press Logo Mixed Emotions
Book List

About Charlotte Vale-Allen

Charlotte Vale-Allen On Writing



    Acts of Kindness
    Claudia's Shadow
    Daddy's Girl
    Dream Train
    Dreaming In Color
    Fresh Air
    Gentle Stranger
    Gifts of Love
    Grace Notes
    Hidden Meanings
    Intimate Friends
    Julia's Sister
    Leftover Dreams
    Love Life
    Matters of the Heart
    Meet Me In Time
    Mixed Emotions
    Moments of Meaning
    Mood Indigo
    Night Magic
    Painted Lives
    Parting Gifts
    Perfect Fools
    Pieces of Dreams
    Running Away
    Somebody's Baby
    Sudden Moves: The sequel to Fresh Air
    Sweeter Music
    Times of Triumph
    Where Is The Baby?
    The Young Person's Dreambook

    Katharine Marlowe Titles
    Heart's Desires

Daddy's Girl

Island Nation Press

Katharine Marlowe


by Charlotte Vale-Allen

book cover for Mixed Emotions

Twenty-two-year-old Margot Seaton meets Paul Rayburn at a party. He is six years older, funny, impulsive, and charming. She's immediately taken by his role-playing, his funny voices and accents, his whimsy. And in a spur-of-the-moment decision, agrees to marry him only days after they meet.

Ignoring the small voice in her head that urges caution, and ignoring all the good advice her parents ever gave her, she begins a life with a man she scarcely knows.

Initially, it's fun. But then Paul begins dictating the terms of her life, where she can and cannot go, what she should and shouldn't do. She must pay -- initially in small but upsetting ways -- for what she wants. But as time goes by, the payments evolve into ever worse acts of abuse.

Margot is being harmed, physically and emotionally, and she's too ashamed and too frightened to confide in her parents. So the assaults continue, growing worse with the passage of time. Until, finally, fearing for her life and with the support of her parents, Margot runs.

She finds work keeping house for Cameron Harley and his father Claude. It is a surprising and ill-kept sanctuary where Margot gradually rediscovers herself and her ability to trust others.

Published by Island Nation Press