Island Nation Press Logo Becoming
Book List

About Charlotte Vale-Allen

Charlotte Vale-Allen On Writing



    Acts of Kindness
    Claudia's Shadow
    Daddy's Girl
    Dream Train
    Dreaming In Color
    Fresh Air
    Gentle Stranger
    Gifts of Love
    Grace Notes
    Hidden Meanings
    Intimate Friends
    Julia's Sister
    Leftover Dreams
    Love Life
    Matters of the Heart
    Meet Me In Time
    Mixed Emotions
    Moments of Meaning
    Mood Indigo
    Night Magic
    Painted Lives
    Parting Gifts
    Perfect Fools
    Pieces of Dreams
    Running Away
    Somebody's Baby
    Sudden Moves: The sequel to Fresh Air
    Sweeter Music
    Times of Triumph
    Where Is The Baby?
    The Young Person's Dreambook

    Katharine Marlowe Titles
    Heart's Desires

Daddy's Girl

Island Nation Press

Katharine Marlowe


by Charlotte Vale-Allen

book cover for Becoming

Sidonie Graham got married and allowed her husband Frank to be the center of her universe -- until the day she suddenly realized she was overweight, unhappy, and desperate to be free.

At the urging of her bold, outspoken Aunt Claudia, Sidonie begins reclaiming her life. Unfortunately, the marriage and subsequent divorce have left Sidonie feeling misshapen and ugly, even when she no longer is.

So when she meets Michael Quinn, producer of what he prefers to call "erotic films," she's primed to fall into something that can only end badly. And it does. Because Michael Quinn wants to make his dream of producing a "legitimate film" come true and Sidonie is perfect for the leading role.

But is Michael Quinn's dream film art or pornography? And does it matter if the end result is the loss of a rather naive, lonely woman's innocence?

It's a painful, humiliating learning experience for Sidonie, but she does learn. And, having discovered unsuspected strength within herself, she is at last prepared to stake a claim on her future and pursue her own dreams.

Published by Island Nation Press