Island Nation Press Logo Claudia's Shadow
Book List

About Charlotte Vale-Allen

Charlotte Vale-Allen On Writing



    Acts of Kindness
    Claudia's Shadow
    Daddy's Girl
    Dream Train
    Dreaming In Color
    Fresh Air
    Gentle Stranger
    Gifts of Love
    Grace Notes
    Hidden Meanings
    Intimate Friends
    Julia's Sister
    Leftover Dreams
    Love Life
    Matters of the Heart
    Meet Me In Time
    Mixed Emotions
    Moments of Meaning
    Mood Indigo
    Night Magic
    Painted Lives
    Parting Gifts
    Perfect Fools
    Pieces of Dreams
    Running Away
    Somebody's Baby
    Sudden Moves: The sequel to Fresh Air
    Sweeter Music
    Times of Triumph
    Where Is The Baby?
    The Young Person's Dreambook

    Katharine Marlowe Titles
    Heart's Desires

Daddy's Girl

Island Nation Press

Katharine Marlowe


by Charlotte Vale-Allen

Read an excerpt book cover for Claudia's Shadow

As her sister's sole heir, Rowena Graham moves into Claudia's house -- their old family home -- and begins to sort out her sister's affairs. She also steps in as manager of Claudia's restaurant and gradually leaves her former life and successful career behind as she relentlessly searched for the truth about her sister's death.

There was no note and the suicide verdict feels all wrong. And while her beautiful younger sister had always been difficult and unpredictable -- warm and affectionate one day, calculating and cruel the next -- Rowena is certain Claudia would never have taken her own life.

Rowena's unexpected discovery of a trove of documents and photographs unearths a host of secrets -- kept not just by Claudia but by every member of the family. Unraveling a tangle of lies and distortions that hid the dynamics of her family, Rowena uncovers the secret to Claudia's death. And finally sets herself free from the shadows of the past.