Island Nation Press Logo Intimate Friends
Book List

About Charlotte Vale-Allen

Charlotte Vale-Allen On Writing



    Acts of Kindness
    Claudia's Shadow
    Daddy's Girl
    Dream Train
    Dreaming In Color
    Fresh Air
    Gentle Stranger
    Gifts of Love
    Grace Notes
    Hidden Meanings
    Intimate Friends
    Julia's Sister
    Leftover Dreams
    Love Life
    Matters of the Heart
    Meet Me In Time
    Mixed Emotions
    Moments of Meaning
    Mood Indigo
    Night Magic
    Painted Lives
    Parting Gifts
    Perfect Fools
    Pieces of Dreams
    Running Away
    Somebody's Baby
    Sudden Moves: The sequel to Fresh Air
    Sweeter Music
    Times of Triumph
    Where Is The Baby?
    The Young Person's Dreambook

    Katharine Marlowe Titles
    Heart's Desires

Daddy's Girl

Island Nation Press

Katharine Marlowe


by Charlotte Vale-Allen

After her husband's suicide, TV producer Lynne Craig's world is upended. There is no evident reason for this act, and she's left to try to come to terms with her husband's death while continuing to function in the cutthroat world of 1960's television. Wearied by the politics, the infighting, and the unfairness of a network that places a low premium on women, she starts her life again in a tiny cottage in Connecticut and commutes into New York to a job that, daily, means less and less to her.

To her bewilderment, she finds herself involved with two men--one older, one much younger. And just when it seems that she and Dianna, the on-air host, might finally get a chance to do a meaningful segment on Up To The Minute, their 60-minute weekly show, Dianna mysteriously disappears.

Her concern for Dianna, coupled with her need to make a decision about the direction of her own life, leads Lynne to discover new facts not only about her associates but also about herself.